Author Topic: SPG vs. beeswax/tallow  (Read 27949 times)

Offline flyingcollie

• Very Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
SPG vs. beeswax/tallow
« on: June 20, 2013, 10:21:34 PM »
Lately, I've been running into guys who don't actually shoot BP, but seem to be full of advice about bullet lube, specifically that SPG is the only thing to use.  Can anyone with some real-life  experience compare it with  "traditional" home-made lube recipes, like beeswax/tallow 50-50 ?

Offline Lucky R. K.

• Purveyor of Fire & Brimstone
  • Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 1
Re: SPG vs. beeswax/tallow
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2013, 08:27:34 AM »
Can anyone with some real-life  experience compare it with  "traditional" home-made lube recipes, like beeswax/tallow 50-50 ?

I have been making my own BP bullet lube for about twenty years now using it in local, national and international competitions with no problems.  It contains beeswax, Crisco, and canola oil in a 50%-40%-10% ratio.  You can vary the percentage of beeswax to control the firmness of the lube.

There are hundreds of receipes out there for a BP lube and almost all of them work at least as well, in most cases better, than SPG. They are also much cheaper to make if you use a lot of lube.  I mold and lube my pistol and rifle bullets as well as the fiber wads I use in the shotgun. 

With a good homemade lube and bullets with a large lube groove you can shoot all day without fouling problems.

Lucky

Greene County Regulators       Life NRA             SCORRS
High Country Cowboys            SASS #79366
Gunpowder Creek Regulators   Dirty RATS #568

The Wind is Your Friend

Offline rifle

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2013, 10:18:57 AM »
SPG is touted as the best lube fer the Holy Black. First time ever a black powder cartridge rifle match was shot and won with the operator not cleaning the bore after every shot was Steve Garbe using his new secrete recipie lube named SPG lube.