Author Topic: Is the EMF 1875 Remington by Uberti a good first gun?  (Read 6991 times)

Offline lazey j

• Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Is the EMF 1875 Remington by Uberti a good first gun?
« on: March 30, 2006, 09:08:16 PM »
Hi,

I am new to this sport and need some guidance.  I am about to buy my first single action revolver, but have never owned one before.  A lot of people seem to like the Colt 1873 SAA, but I am drawn to the Remington 1875.  I have looked at the EMF 1875 Remington by Uberti in .38/.357 with the 5.5" barrel and like the look and feel of it better than the Colt.  Am I making a good choice?  Does anyone already own this model?  What kind of accuracy and reliabilty can I expect? Is it easy to maintain? 
Have you experienced any cylinder gap or timing problems? How well does this gun shoot, right out of the box?

Offline Tensleep

• Damned Ol' Ranger
  • CAS-L Ghost Rider
  • Top Active Citizen
  • Dealer in Bullets and Gun Butter
  • Liked:
Re: Is the EMF 1875 Remington by Uberti a good first gun?
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2006, 09:11:34 PM »
I have had two and after several hundred rounds I encountered no problems.
Masonic Cowboy Shootist
America's 1st Grey Sash Cowboy, GSC 006
SASS 5756 Life, Regulator
Dooley Gang, Virginia Chapter
Just a poor dumb cowboy, tryin' to do my best.
"If I could roll back tha years, back when I was young and limber..."

Offline Durango

• Citizen
  • Liked:
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2006, 09:27:34 PM »