Author Topic: Using a flask for a rifle  (Read 3885 times)

Offline Niederlander

• American Plainsmen Society
  • Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 6
Using a flask for a rifle
« on: November 30, 2015, 07:55:57 PM »
Gentlemen,
      I'm new to black powder rifles, although not to black powder revolvers.  Is it safe to use a flask to load a rifle, as you would a revolver?  I'm under the impression the 1841 was issued with a Peace Flask, and I can't imagine they would have used them any other way than to pour the powder directly from the flask into the barrel.  What are the thoughts here?
"There go those Nebraskans, and all hell couldn't stop them!"

Offline Kent Shootwell

• Top Active Citizen
  • Got whiskey, will stumble.
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 23
Re: Using a flask for a rifle
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2015, 08:00:17 PM »
Most shooting events will not allow you to do that. The possibility of a glowing ember in the barrel could conceivably light your flask.
Little powder much lead shoots far kills dead.
Member, whiskey livers
AKA Phil Coffins, AKA Oliver Sudden

Offline Niederlander

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2015, 08:14:30 PM »
I wondered about that. I personally plan to use a powder horn and measure with my Mountain Rifle, but I was curious.

Advertising

« Reply #3 on: Today at 02:14:04 AM »

Offline Tascosa Joe

• NCOWS Member
  • Top Active Citizen
  • SASS #: 2770
  • NCOWS #: L-168
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 11
« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2015, 09:22:55 PM »
Kent set you straight.  A flask is a perfectly good method to carry powder for a rifle.  I would guess some of the old folks may have poured powder from the flask but it is not the safest method.  Flask or horn to powder measure is the best way.
NRA Life, TSRA Life, NCOWS  Life

Offline Tsalagidave

• Deputy Marshal
  • Top Active Citizen
  • Dave Rodgers
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 65
« Reply #4 on: December 01, 2015, 12:50:12 AM »