Author Topic: Reloading 38spl - how much roll crimp  (Read 6341 times)

Offline TheOtherLeft

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Reloading 38spl - how much roll crimp
« on: October 15, 2013, 05:56:11 PM »
Hi Pards,

I'm new to reloading and have bought Lee Classic Turret Press kit. I'm going to start the trial and error process of getting everything adjusted this weekend.

As I am reloading 38spl how do I know there is enough roll crimp? Does anyone have pics of too little, too much and what is the right amount of roll crimp?

FWIW it's for both revolver and leveraction.

Thanks

Offline cpt dan blodgett

• Top Active Citizen
  • SASS Conv 2013
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 3
Re: Reloading 38spl - how much roll crimp
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2013, 07:41:17 PM »
You make think this is a non answer but as little as you can get by with. Excessive crimp works the brass to much. Not enough the bullets may move.  In a revolver neck tension alone has worked for me.  You really don't want to crimp two different crimps   start with just a slight radius on the case mouth. Test to see if that works in a rifle. Load mag full shoot 1 lever next one out check to see if bullet worked further in or out. Calipers are your friend.  If that cartridge ok shoot 5 or six check goal of remainder.

If you shoot holy black you may need a pretty firm crimp for mist consitentcy.  That and heavy bullets
Queen of Battle - "Follow Me"
NRA Life
DAV Life
ROI, ROII

Offline Abilene

• CAS-L Ghost Rider
  • Top Active Citizen
    • Abilene's CAS Pages
  • SASS #: 27489
  • NCOWS #: 3958
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 1264
« Reply #2 on: October 15, 2013, 08:16:20 PM »
When you run your fingernail from the side of the bullet down to the case, you don't want it to "catch" on the edge of the case mouth.  If you crimp too much it may bulge the crimp area and the round may not chamber easily.  If you have any factory ammo you can look at those.  Here's a pic of some of my .38's and a .357.