Author Topic: Wanting to shoot my Spencer, Best course of action?  (Read 7891 times)

Offline fireman

• Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Wanting to shoot my Spencer, Best course of action?
« on: October 06, 2013, 12:22:34 PM »
Hey All,
I joined a few months ago when I bought my Spencer and finally had it to a gun smith to examine it to make shore it was safe to shoot. He gave me the green light and said he was surprised that the gun was in as good of shape as it is given it's age and being in a war. With that said I now want to shoot it more than ever. I have been shooting all types of firearms for 35 years but have zero experience with reloading. I have looked through the entire SSS forum and have found numerous threads about making your own rim fire rounds, converting to center fire and making center fire rounds etc. I have also seen the cases that use a .22 shell or blank.

I guess the bottom line and what I am asking is, what is the easiest way to be able to shoot my gun? I understand that either way it's going to be somewhat costly but I'm willing to spend the money. I don't mind converting it to center fire as long as I don't have to do any modifications to the original parts. I also don't mind firing it single fire if that's what I have to do. I'm also not looking to put hundreds of rounds through it. When I go to the range with some of my other guns, I just want to be able to take out the Spencer and put a few rounds through it and be able to think about what it was like to be the soldier it was issued to in Company D of the 12th. Illinois Cavalry back in 1864!

Any help and guidance would be appreciated.
Thanks,
Jeff

Offline Two Flints

• Spencer Shooting Society Founder & Moderator
  • Deputy Marshal
  • Top Active Citizen
  • Moderating SSS IS a "Labor of Love"!
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 2
Re: Wanting to shoot my Spencer, Best course of action?
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2013, 12:53:27 PM »
Fireman,