Author Topic: Marlin 1894 lever action compared to Winchester/Uberti 73 action  (Read 11050 times)

Offline TheOtherLeft

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Hi guys,

I'm still very new to CAS and am selecting a lever action in 38/357.

So far the short list is the Uberti 1873 and the Marlin 1894.

I have a limited understanding of how the Uberti action works with the 'elevator' etc but still don't have a clear understanding of how the Marlin action is different. I understand the marlin uses a lever to lift the ammo from the mag tube to the chamber compared to the elevator. I've seen the Marauder website which helps a little.

Does someone have pictures of the Marlin action operating?

I've also been told the Uberti action isn't as strong as the Marlin action. However the Uberti has a shorter stroke and can be modified to make it even shorter (with the short stroke kit) whereas the Marlin cannot be modified other then to make it smoother and prevent the "Marlin Jam".

Thanks

Offline flyingcollie

• Very Active Citizen
  • Liked:
Re: Marlin 1894 lever action compared to Winchester/Uberti 73 action
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2013, 10:16:19 PM »
After a year shooting with the local outfit, reckon that makes me practically a "nextpert"  ;D At least 'til some of the old hands can educate us both.

I swapped a '94 Winchester .30-30 for a '94 "Cowboy" Marlin in .45 LC to match my handguns. Used a little, it's a sweet rifle, has never jammed on me, and is accurate at 200 yards, fun to shoot !

Scuttlebutt with the guys I shoot with is that the '73 Winchester action (they all got Uberti repros) is a little quicker than the Marlin, but I've seen some mechanical difficulties with 'em at matches, at least a couple of those problems were due to errors in reloading the ammo. At least in our group of duffers, you'd never be able to tell from scores who was shooting what, for us, any advantage either rifle may have don't tell.