Author Topic: 'Wild Bunch' gun handling  (Read 5767 times)

Offline PJ Hardtack

• American Plainsmen Society
  • Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
'Wild Bunch' gun handling
« on: December 07, 2012, 11:41:23 AM »
Somebody run me through the WB 'unloading' commands and drill. Is it similar to what is done in IPSC?

Things have changed since I was an IPSC Black Badge Instructor and what I'm used to doing would have me kicked out of a match. In my era, we did the drill of:
- safety on
- remove the mag, tucking it between the 3rd & 4th fingers
- eject the chambered round into the hand
- show 'clear' to the RO
- ease the slide forward
- drop the hammer downrange

Looks ever so cool, but now the IPSC guys tell me that they drop the mag, eject the round, work the slide a couple of times and then drop the hammer downrange. Putting the elbow ahead of the muzzle to lock back the slide as I do is a No-No of the first order.

I think it's time that I re-audited the Black Badge course .....
"I won't be wronged, I won't be insulted, I won't be laid a hand on.
I don't do these things to others and I require the same from them."  John Wayne

Offline Goody

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
Re: 'Wild Bunch' gun handling
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2012, 11:45:43 AM »
In WB the slide will be locked as the gun is shot dry. All of the following is done on the firing line at the conclusion of the stage.
You will be told to drop the mag, show clear, release the slide, point the gun downrange and pull the trigger, holster. You do not show clear at unloading table, or remove from holster. To do so is a penalty.

Offline August

• Deputy Marshal
  • Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 24
« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2012, 11:52:52 AM »
In WB the slide will be locked as the gun is shot dry. All of the following is done on the firing line at the conclusion of the stage.