Author Topic: New to reloading and have a question  (Read 7952 times)

Offline One-eyed Jack

• Active citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
New to reloading and have a question
« on: March 15, 2012, 03:03:07 PM »
I'm sure this has been asked plenty of times but I have a simple question which I'm sure has a hundred answers.

I have just setup my Dillon XL 650 and am about ready to reload my very first (ever) round of ammo.  I've got brass and have bullets on their way.  But what is your recommendation for a smokeless powder and primers?

Remember, I'm brand new to this so keep it as simple as possible.  I shoot .44 special in a Ruger Vaquero and .45 LC in a Colt SAA 3rd generation.

Also re bullets, I have ordered 200gr RNFP lead bullets, I assume this is appropriate for SASS

thanks,
One-eyed Jack

Offline Delmonico

• Deputy Marshal
  • Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 1
Re: New to reloading and have a question
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2012, 05:04:16 PM »
Get a couple of good reloading manuals and read them from cover to cover first.
Mongrel Historian

Always get the water for the coffee upstream from the herd.

Ab Ovo Usque ad Mala

The time has passed so quick, the years all run together now.

Offline rickk

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2012, 06:49:40 PM »
There are many powder choices, depending on what you are trying to accomplish.

Unique would possibly be a powder to look into the loading tables for.

It's been around a long time, and is very flexible (hence the name). 

It is the original 45 colt powder, and works well in 44 special as well.

Once you figure out what you want to do with your loads, there are other choices, but Unique would be a good powder to play with to start things off.

A reliable source of loading data is mandatory. The Alliant web site is a good and free place to start. http://www.alliantpowder.com/reloaders/default.aspx