Author Topic: Rifle classification question  (Read 2139 times)

Offline Galloway

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Rifle classification question
« on: March 07, 2012, 11:09:52 AM »
Sorry if this has been covered but whats the difference between a MI, PA, and KY rifle? I though they were all considered long rifles but Ive seen them classified seprately on collector sites. Thanks

Offline Tascosa Joe

• NCOWS Member
  • Top Active Citizen
  • SASS #: 2770
  • NCOWS #: L-168
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 11
Re: Rifle classification question
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2012, 12:58:07 PM »
I am no expert.  I always thought KY and PA rifles were the sames.  Built in PA and carried by the pioneers and long hunters to KY.  I am not familiar with a MI rifle.  Most of the differences are changes in stock shape, and decoration on the rifles when you change geografic areas. 
NRA Life, TSRA Life, NCOWS  Life

Offline James Hunt

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2012, 03:35:27 PM »
All are correctly termed American Long Rifles. The nomenclature Pennsylvania rifle is used to describe the style of those early riffles, about 1750 thru 1830 that had the characteristics of their German builders largely gathered in counties about eastern PA. These guns show common styling but within that group there are a myriad of characteristics that have spawned many books. Additionally those rifles evolved over their period to change  in appearance. There were German (and probably English) makers in Virginia also, and those guns seem to have some English characteristics such as their locks and stock shape.