Author Topic: Ruining My Ruger?  (Read 7061 times)

Offline Bad Hand Dan

• One Handed Two Gun Terror
  • Active citizen
    • Old West Goods
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Ruining My Ruger?
« on: May 29, 2005, 07:07:41 PM »
I'm new to CAS.

I've got a little problem:

I bought a Ruger 357 Vaquero in Stainless. I love it. Better than my Kimber .45!

I start practicing with 38 special lead reloads from Miwall

I run 400 rounds through the gun in about 2 weeks - my accuracy is getting worse, not better

I notice I can't seat a 357 shell inthe gun (sticks out about 1/8 inch)

I pull the cylinder to clean it. I try a couple of different solvents and bore brushes. I work on it a loooooong time.

I still seem to have a .38 special insted of a 357 as the 357 round WILL NOT seat. :'(  Very distressing.

Observations so far:

1. Hoppes No. 9 is NOT a lead solvent, as it claims on the label.

2. Apparently,I'm not going to fix this with solvent

Can anyone tell me how to fix this?

Offline Doc Shapiro

• Top Active Citizen
    • Custom Handmade Pistol Grips
  • Liked:
Re: Ruining My Ruger?
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2005, 07:58:50 PM »
What you're finding is a buildup of carbon in the chamber.  It occurs when you shoot a shorter cartridge than the chamber is actually designed for.  It'll always form if you shoot .38's.  If you shoot .357's it won't.

Lewis Lead Remover is a good tool for gettin it out.  Sometimes you can use a sized and slightly belled .357 case and tap it through with a mallet.

There are other techniques as well.

Keep it at, it'll free up.

Doc

Offline Wrangler Rich

• Very Active Citizen
  • Liked:
« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2005, 09:21:07 PM »
Bad Hand Dan,

If you can find a glass jar large enough to put your cylinder in, cover it with the Hoppes #9, and let it sit for a few days,( put a lid on it too) it will make removing the buildup a lot easier.