Author Topic: Shot my new Marlin 1894CB yesterday  (Read 3191 times)

Offline jrdudas

• Very Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Shot my new Marlin 1894CB yesterday
« on: May 03, 2005, 09:23:11 AM »
I'm new to CAS and am scheduled for a "New Shooter Orientation" this month.  I have two guns, a Stoeger 12ga and a Marlin 1894CB that I have recently acquired.  I fired the shotgun a few months back at the Trap range and while it worked flawlessly, I was not able to hit many clays.  I really bought the gun for CAS however and I expect that it will be fine for that purpose.  I find that I am drawn more and more however to an 1897 Winchester; we'll see. 

As for the Marlin; I went to the range yesterday and fired it for the first time.  My groupings were good but a little low and to the right.  This was from a standing position and unsupported, so I don't plan on making any adjustments just yet.  The action on the Marlin seemed a little less smooth than what I expected, perhaps more lubrication is needed.  I have read that many shooters have their guns "slicked up" but I'm not ready to do that yet.  In any case, I am so far well pleased with the Marlin.  I also fired my Heritage Arms .22 caliber SA for the first time yesterday.  A nice little gun and it seemed relatively accurate.  I have read recently that some clubs have side matches for .22's; I guess I'll find out in a few days if the club I will be attending does this or not.

John

Offline Micheal Fortune

• Top Active Citizen
    • Micheal Fortune
  • Liked:
Re: Shot my new Marlin 1894CB yesterday
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2005, 10:56:32 AM »
John, I got the same Marlin and I love it, smooth as silk but it sure don't come that way out of the box!

Those sites are adjustable so when you get more used to it just tap them in.  You want that gold dot on the front to represent a bullet hole each time you squeeze her off.