Author Topic: compression and bullet seating  (Read 6670 times)

Offline Black River Johnny

• Very Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
compression and bullet seating
« on: October 07, 2008, 07:56:21 AM »
Being a bp cartridge newbie I have a question on compression, Why do some loads say compressed or not? I mean are not all loads compressed? If I fill a case  to the top why can't I just use the bullet to compress the powder? how much compression should a load have and if you compress the powder you still need to seat the bullet and not have any air gap, doesnt that change the compressed load? also just looking for general answers on compressing.
Thanks

Offline Paladin UK

• UK`s 1st Warthog
  • Top Active Citizen
  • Have Gun.. "Might Travel"
    • White Knight Ranch... Homestead of Paladin UK
  • Liked:
Re: compression and bullet seating
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2008, 12:27:15 PM »
This might help ya...... ;)

http://www.cascity.com/forumhall/index.php/topic,18257.0.html

Paladin (What lurvs the Holy Black) UK
I Ride with the `Picketts Hill Marshals`..... A mean pistol packin bunch a No goods

The UK`s 1st Warthog!!... Soot Lord, and Profound believer in tha....`Holy Black` 
 MASTER... The Sublyme & Holy Order of the Soot (SHOTS)
  BWSS#033  SCORRS  SBSS#836L  STORM#303

Real Cowboys Shoot with BLACK POWDER!!

Paladins Web Site

Paladins Very Own Shotshell Loader This is an animaton so it takes a while fer the 1st page ta go..

Offline Ranch 13

• Top Active Citizen
    • Historic Shooting.com
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 8
« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2008, 01:17:54 PM »
 Compression is probably an over used and confusing term. Basically you'll compress the powder as much as you need to to fully seat the bullet. What ever number you decide to assign as compression amount will likely impress the snot out of somebody.
 Yes you can compress the powder while seating the bullet and wad.