Author Topic: Soule sites  (Read 3785 times)

Offline Ten Wolves Fiveshooter

• Deputy Marshal
  • Top Active Citizen
  • Live To Fight Another Day
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 1
Soule sites
« on: August 19, 2008, 06:40:22 PM »
Howdy Gents

I'm new to Long distance shooting, and just bought a Pedersoli Sharps Business Rifle, I haven't picked it up yet , this coming Friday will be the day, and I can hardly wait, I've had the Pedersoli Soule Midrange Sites installed along with the Spitit Level Front Sites, I'll probably be having a lot of questions as I go along , but I would like to ask if anybody knows if you're supposed to remove the rear Soule Site when it is not in use, my barrel rear site is removed and I will put a dovetail plug in that spot when I get the gun, so the Soule Site will be my only rear site, so is it ok to just leave it on the gun or is it better to remove it when not in use and put it back on when needed, I remember seeing in some of the old westerns where they pulled out there Sharps Rifle and installed there sites and then made there shot , I don't know if those sites were Soule or tang ,vernier or Creedmore.
      So if any of you Pards have any thoughts on this , it would be much appreciated.

tEN wOLVES  ;) :D ;D
NRA, SASS# 69595, NCOWS#3123 Leather Shop, RATTS# 369, SCORRS, BROW, ROWSS #40   Shoot Straight, Have Fun, That's What It's All About

Offline Ol Gabe

• NCOWS Member
  • Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
Re: Soule sites
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2008, 07:45:00 AM »
T. W.,
Unless you are a whiz at installing springs and getting the detent slot in the right spot every time without pulling out all your hair and spewing epithets at any creature who asks what you are doing, you have no need to take it off, that is pretty much pure Hollywood. Of course, there are some that do, but by and large it ain't needed.