Author Topic: Has any one used the Lee 459-500-3R mould  (Read 6302 times)

Offline Ace Lungger

• Top Active Citizen
  • Just taking one day at a time!
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Has any one used the Lee 459-500-3R mould
« on: July 27, 2008, 06:48:00 AM »
 :) Good morning Pards,
 i am looking at that mould and also a single cav lee mould with a hollow base! Although I am new to this type of shooting, i am not new to long range shooting, and My prefernce is a long pointed bullet! I don't spell very good and I am sorry about that! when I was long range shooting years ago before all the health and old age problems, I work hard on my hand loads, allways used IMR 3031, H-110, H-335, I would take a scapel from a Doctor office, and had containers, that I would cut the pellets 3/4, 1/2, 1/3,1/4,1/8, 1/16ths, and the misc. pieces Used my Bleeding Mull powder dump to get close and then scale to perfect (as close as I could do) allways starting with new brass all shot and marked what rifle, what load, load data, ect.. But I was young and very important to me, to be the best I could be! On a new gun, wheter it be a factory or custom built rifle, I wond clean every part, then I never ran a brush threw the barrel ever again, I would use a rigging that I used for 20 years. I used the very fine plastic coated dyamite wire, put my patch in the slot used Hopes solvent's several patches then dry patches and then a light coated patch with Free Breeze.
 I allways used boat tail bullets!

But since I am dumb as a stump in this area, I could use all the help I can get!

ACE
member of the Cas City Leather family!
Member of Storms
Member of Brown
SASS # 80961

Offline wwpete52

• Active citizen
  • Liked:
Re: Has any one used the Lee 459-500-3R mould
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2008, 10:25:15 AM »
I use both Lee molds that you reference. They work just fine however I only use black powder.  I can't give you any info on smoke-less powder loads.