Author Topic: Oil VS Alcohol?  (Read 7272 times)

Offline Uncle Chan

• Very Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Oil VS Alcohol?
« on: September 10, 2006, 10:30:47 PM »
Gents, I'm a novice at the leather stuff and didn't learn until yesterday that to get the soft leather feel I have with my San Pedro Saddlery holster, that it should have been dyed with oil-based dye, rather than the alcohol.  As a result, my holsters are quite stiff and subject to easy scratching (I do most of my stuff in black).  Leather Factory told me to next time:  cut, case, and stamp, THEN, slather with neatsfoot oil, wait 24hrs, buff, dye with oil-based dye, wait 24hrs, buff, slather with neatsfoot oil, wait 24hrs, buff, then coat with tan kote.  That should give me a soft, maleable and well-protected holster.

BTW, Nolan Sackett, I just ordered your Holster-Making DVD this evening and since I grew up watching Loony Tunes, I fully expect to get it any second now!!!  Can't wait!!  :)

Any help?  What are your preferences?  Is it possible to soften leather dyed with alcohol base and protect it like LF says to do with oil-based dyes?

:)  Thanks Kindly,

Uncle Chan

Offline Marshal Will Wingam

• Garden Variety
  • Deputy Marshal
  • Top Active Citizen
  • Smile. It makes people wonder what you're up to.
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 308
Re: Oil VS Alcohol?
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2006, 05:44:54 PM »
Oil-based dyes will tend to make a softer holster. Careful how much neetsfoot oil you put on. If the leather takes too much, it will get too pliable and won't hold its shape. That's OK for a belt, but not for a holster or rig where shape and rigidity is a benefit. You only want enough to keep the leather from feeling dry.

SCORRS     SASS     BHR     STORM #446

Offline Trailrider

• CAS-L Ghost Rider
  • Top Active Citizen
    • Gunfighter Zone
  • Liked:
« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2006, 06:30:58 PM »
Howdy, Pards,