Author Topic: Henry Rifle: How is was used in the Civil War  (Read 6334 times)

Offline Sean Thornton

• Top Active Citizen
  • Bentonville, NC 2010
    • The Henry Repeating Rifle
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Henry Rifle: How is was used in the Civil War
« on: April 07, 2011, 08:23:35 PM »
Here is an essay I have been working on for the past 3 years and will continue as more information comes forth.
http://44henryrifle.webs.com/civilwarusage.htm
"Victory thru rapid fire"
National Henry Rifle Company"
SASS 5042 LTGR

Offline Major 2

• "Still running against the wind"
  • Deputy Marshal
  • Top Active Citizen
  • NCOWS #: 3032
  • GAF #: 785
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 426
Re: Henry Rifle: How is was used in the Civil War
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2011, 08:36:12 PM »
Good work there ...I enjoyed the surf  :)
when planets align...do the deal !

Offline SGT John Chapman

• Top Active Citizen
  • And from the mists and darkness, He came.........
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 1
« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2011, 08:30:15 AM »
Dang Nice read,... thanks for sharing it!!
Regards,
Sgt Chapman

##**EXTREME WARTHOG**##
            ~~GAF #143~~
               **SCORRS**
             ~*RATS #165*~

CAS City Profile For Sgt John Chapman

Advertising

« Reply #3 on: Today at 11:01:45 PM »

Offline w44wcf

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2011, 09:12:28 AM »
Sean,

Excellent read about a very historic firearm! ;D Thank you for the link.

A few of my own observations. With regards to  "It is interesting to note that some of the early advertisements claimed that fact, certain death at 1000 yards.  The fact is that a 216 grain bullet in front of 26-28 grains of black powder would doubtfully even travel close to that distance."  The fact is that it will for sure reach beyond 1,000 yards.  

1.) A 22LR will travel at least 1,700 yards and since the sectional density and velocity is very similar to the .44 Henry,  it will very likely travel the same distance.