Author Topic: Best Powder for 45LC CAS loads (Trail Boss v Tin Star - or what)?  (Read 19336 times)

Was wondering if I could get some advice with regards to powders most suitable for Cowboy Action Shooting.

I’m just getting into loading my own ammunition.  I’ve been looking at Trail Boss and Tin Star.  I know there is some controversy regarding the future (or even current) availability of Tin Star but let’s avoid that for now and just deal with the performance of the respective powders.

As far as I know both Trail Boss and Tin Star are designed to be “bulky” powders that will essentially fill the cases being loaded, so in that sense I assume they are relatively the same.  Am I correct in that – are they both about the same for bulk?

With regards to performance I’ve heard Trail Boss described as “very dirty burning” powder.  I suppose that’s relative.  If you compared it to black powder then I’m sure it’s very clean burning.  If you compared it to some of the other modern smokeless powders I imagine it would be much dirtier.  Can anyone comment on whether Tin Star is any cleaner burning than Trail Boss?  And if they are both about the same, can anyone recommend another powder suitable for 45LC that would be cleaner burning?

Last thing.  Is there any significant difference in the pressures generated by Tin Star and/or Trail Boss?

Thanks in advance for your advice.

Offline PJ Hardtack

• American Plainsmen Society
  • Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Best Powder for 45LC CAS loads (Trail Boss v Tin Star - or what)?
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2014, 03:44:36 PM »
I like Trail Boss in .45 Colt and lately I've been using it in my .455's.

I was gifted with a lb. of Tin Star, but haven't loaded with it yet due to the lack of data.

It looks nothing like TB (small, grey flat donuts) and is small green/grey cubes, I would NOT extrapolate TB loads using Tin Star.

FWIT - try Unique or Red Dot, useful in all CAS calibres.