Author Topic: 1866 Winchester...new shooter  (Read 5257 times)

Offline Dirty Dan Dawkins

• Wyoming or bust!
  • Very Active Citizen
  • Mid Ga's electric cowboy
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
1866 Winchester...new shooter
« on: May 07, 2007, 05:43:06 PM »
Just got a '66 yellowboy carbine in 45 colt for $575 NIB. Hard for me to turn that one down after seeing them in the high $700s and up.
Anyways, I have always loved these rifle. The Henry and the '66 are to me by far the two prettiest danged rifles ever produced.
If anyone has any tips for me as I am new to this model rifle, I'd appreciate it. I shoot real black powder.

Thanks
3D
I play cards with J.D. Shellnut....chief of Police...SO get off my a**!!!!!!!!!!

Offline Dusty Morningwood

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
Re: 1866 Winchester...new shooter
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2007, 06:16:21 PM »
Just fill the case up to about 1/8" from mouth and use a Big-Lube bullet.  Other than that, just shoot it!

• Wyoming or bust!
  • Very Active Citizen
  • Liked:
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2007, 06:33:43 PM »
Cool! That was my intentions exactly!
Seriously though, I kept hearin' rumors of stretched/damaged frames and such if loads were too much..
I play cards with J.D. Shellnut....chief of Police...SO get off my a**!!!!!!!!!!

Advertising

« Reply #3 on: Today at 07:04:18 AM »

Offline Tuolumne Lawman

• CAS-L Ghost Rider
  • Top Active Citizen
  • Grass Valley, CA in the Sierra Nevada Mountains
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 46
« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2007, 03:44:16 PM »
You can load either FFG or FFFG, about 35-37 grns (Volume) depending on whether you use a drop tube.  I like about 33 with a wonder wad, as it keeps it cleaner.  FFFG makes hotter (faster) loads, though still safe, but FFG tends to be more accurate.  I don't see any difference in fouling as long as you use bullets with pleanty of lube.
TUOLUMNE LAWMAN