Author Topic: reloading .40-60  (Read 3263 times)

Offline dieselten

• Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
reloading .40-60
« on: February 20, 2008, 10:30:46 PM »
Hello,

I have a Chapparal 1876 in .40-60.  I want to load it using a 210 grain lead bullets with SPG lube and Goex Pinnacle FFg powder.  I have never tried Pinnacle before, has anyone else?  How did it work?

Also, does anyone know if the LEE die set sold by Buffalo Arms will work OK with the .406 diameter required in the Chapparal .40-60?

Any help would be appreciated, thanks.

Offline Grizzly Adams

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 4
Re: reloading .40-60
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2008, 10:57:30 PM »
Hello,

I have a Chapparal 1876 in .40-60.  I want to load it using a 210 grain lead bullets with SPG lube and Goex Pinnacle FFg powder.  I have never tried Pinnacle before, has anyone else?  How did it work?

Also, does anyone know if the LEE die set sold by Buffalo Arms will work OK with the .406 diameter required in the Chapparal .40-60?

Any help would be appreciated, thanks.

Welcome dieselten,

I use Goex Pinnacle sometimes in both my 45-60 and also in my Sharps 45-70.  I like it!  One thing I have found it that it does not like a lot of compression.  Very light compression will produce consistent velocity and little or no fouling.  Cleans up with a couple of patches of Windex or tap water.  Another nice thing is that it works well with bullets lubed for smokeless or BP. :)

Can't help with the die question, as I don't shoot this caliber. ;D
If you can read this, thank a teacher. If you can read this in English, thank a Veteran!
COMNAVFORV, NRA life, SASS Life, TG, STORM Rider #36.
GAF

Offline dieselten

• Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2008, 03:41:26 PM »