Author Topic: Starter revolvers  (Read 5057 times)

Offline Mountain_Man

• Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Starter revolvers
« on: February 12, 2013, 04:08:52 PM »
I am quite new to this and have taken in so much information it is somewhat overwelming.  I have been in contact with numerous people regarding getting first gun.  Single action army, Open top, Break top, the list is endless.  I am leaning toward the SA Frontier or the Model P 1873-1896.  Both are from Cimarron firearms.  A Scholfield would be nice, however since just srating out the cost is a little out of reach.  Does anyone have any insite of the best one for a newbe?

I also am looking for rifles as well.  I would like to have a period rifle that can be used for modern hunting also.  Is that possible?  If so does anyone have any information that could help in the choice?

thanks

Offline The Trinity Kid

• Top Active Citizen
  • Gathering of Freedom-Seed Spreaders
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 15
Re: Starter revolvers
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2013, 05:29:40 PM »
Well, I don't personally have any Colt handguns, but the Richards-Mason Open-Top kinda take my fancy.  I like the grips on the Navy, but you would have to see for your self.  Feel for yourself.  As for rifles, the Winchester 1873 chambered in 45 Long Colt or in 44-40 Winchester was used for deer hunting from the time it was invented into modern times.  The Sharps works equally well in any of it's chamberings, and has plenty of killing power out to around 800(?)yds.     

If you want to span fifty years you could use my personal arsenal.  I have a 44 caliber Remington New model Army revolver and a Winchester model 1894 in 30 W.C.F. 

Just some information for ya'.

Have fun.

--TK
"Nobody who has not been up in the sky on a glorious morning can possibly imagine the way a pilot feels in free heaven." William T. Piper