Author Topic: wanting to start loading with bp  (Read 3666 times)

Offline msn_jrd

• Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
wanting to start loading with bp
« on: November 04, 2009, 08:35:30 AM »
I know the answers are here somewhere but there's just to much good info here to stay on track!
I am looking at buying a horndy lnl ap set up and thinking about going to bp as well because were there is a bang there  should be smoke and fire ;D But i am new to bp and reloading a not real sure on what all i need to load 38spl in bp i am shooting a 5.5" vaqero and a 20" 1892 hartford both in .357 so how would you load your 38s? I have heard enough good stuff about big lube boolits that i figure ill be useing them are they lubed when ya get them? do i need anything in there besides powder and a bullet in there and are normal smokeless primers used
Oh this may be a dump question but does any one use a case feeder with bp or would that be a no no haven't been around one so i dont really know how they have it working.

Offline Springfield Slim

• Top Active Citizen
    • Whyte Leatherworks
  • Liked:
Re: wanting to start loading with bp
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2009, 11:20:19 AM »
The Big Lubes come sized and lubed and ready to go. Just fill the case with enough powder so that you get a slight compression. I personally use regular primers, no need for magnums.  And don't see any reason not to use a case feeder.
Full time Mr. Mom and part time leatherworker and bullet caster

Offline Doc O

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2009, 12:05:10 PM »
I've gotten Snakebite from Slim before. He makes a good bullet w/good lube.
I beleave he will size them the size you prefer. But you should ask him about that.

Doc

Advertising

« Reply #3 on: Today at 01:51:19 PM »

Offline john boy

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
« Reply #3 on: November 04, 2009, 12:41:25 PM »
JRD - the powder charge for a 38Spl will be 16gr FFFg @ 870fps using a 158gr bullet.