Author Topic: Cap & Ball without wads or lube?  (Read 20717 times)

Offline Two Bit Charlie

• NCOWS Member
  • Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 11
Cap & Ball without wads or lube?
« on: March 02, 2018, 04:36:12 PM »
I was on another forum and the discussion of using APP or other subs came up. They were saying that if you used APP, had tight fitting balls, even if you did not use lubed wads or have grease over your balls, you didn't have to worry about chain fires. Why is that? Is it the powder, or is it the tight fitting balls seal the cylinder? If It's the fit of the balls, can you do without lubed wads or greased balls with real black powder?

I'm just getting into cap guns. I use APP in my cowboy guns and Swiss in my BPCR.

Two-Bit Charlie

PS -Try writing a post like this while keeping a straight face.  :o

Offline Coffinmaker

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 127
Re: Cap & Ball without wads or lube?
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2018, 06:55:42 PM »
 :D Well .... Since you ask ..  :D

There's really no need to grease yer balls  ::)   Or for that matter greasy anywhere.  Actually.  Don't need any grease on yer balls at all (snicker snicker snicker)  ;D   Don't need lubed Wads neither.  Total waste of time and material.  With APP or Black MZ.

There are several schools of thought concerning Chain Fire.  Thought number one:  Chain Fire is caused by poor fitting or missing caps.  After all, there is a great ball of fire around yer nipples (Grin, snicker snicker) at ignition.  Very possible to get "flash over" sufficient to cause Chain Fire because yer Nipples are unprotected  :D   So ... be sure to protect yer nipples  :o   If you have a stage with a reload, load all 6 chambers.  Cap 5 at the loading table (that's all you can cap anyway) and at the Buzzard, cap your 6th nipple BEFORE you shoot that pistol.  Keeps yer nipple  ::) protected.