Author Topic: Silly questions from a newbie!  (Read 4928 times)

Offline thehairlessone

• Very Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Silly questions from a newbie!
« on: April 02, 2005, 05:18:19 PM »
I have a few silly ?'s. Hope you dont get asked this too much.

I am thinking about trying the cas thing but I also would like to get a couple guns I can hunt with if I want.

I think I have the pistol narrowed down a bit. I found a new ruger vaquero w/ 5 1/2" barrel .357 for a really good price.

I am unsure about the rifle. Which caliber would be ok for that? I see alot of people use the .45's but is there a different lever action that would be more practicle for hunting and still be ok for cas?

Same for a shotgun. I am leaning towards a 12 double barrell. I would also like to use it for turkey hunting.

How much can I expect to pay for each both new & used? I dont want to get too expensive since I am just starting out.

Which different calibers of rifle could you use? I have another shop in town to check with. I would like to buy new if there was a decent offbrand you could get reasonably.

Also, the one thing I am really unsure about it ammo. I read that you have to have ammo with slower fps speeds than normal so I am guessing that you use a different type of ammo for cas?

Where do you get it and how much can I expect? I have no idea how to reload but that may be something I could look into down the line.

All the help you can give me would be appreciated. I found a match in a couple weeks that I am going to try to make so I can watch.

rick

Offline L.G.

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
Re: Silly questions from a newbie!
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2005, 11:00:07 AM »
Well since you've already found one .357 pistol, get another, and a rifle in the same caliber.  A 1892 Hartford or a Marlin in .357 would be very economical to purchase.
SASS #48097
NRA #2008175
Gateway Shootist Society
Member of The Torque and Recoil Club
WartHog
B.O.S.S. #19
RATS #130