Author Topic: 45-70 - recommended load  (Read 18233 times)

Offline MONGO-AZ

• Active citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
45-70 - recommended load
« on: November 13, 2006, 11:14:09 AM »
Hello y'all.

I've recently acquired a Sharps Rifle (repro by IAB) 28" barrel in 45-70. I'm looking for a basic load for simple target shooting 100-300yd - nothing with a massive kick. I'm used to reloading .45LC (250gr RNFP over 8 gr. of Unique), 12gauge and .38SPC, so I'm not a beginner at reloading, but just a little confused as to where to start.

The manual recommended BP loads or equiv. pressures - I've never loaded BP rounds before - only smokeless. I plan to load both 300gr. and 405gr RN in Rem. cases over standard CCI Lg Rifle primers.

Any adivce on loads, or good websites with data on them?  ??? :-\

Offline Grapeshot

• Grapeshot. Cpt US Artillery
  • Top Active Citizen
  • WARTHOG
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 2
Re: 45-70 - recommended load
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2006, 01:19:21 PM »
Lyman's cast bullet handbook is a good place to start.  When I started with the 45-70 back in the early 1970's, I shot a variety of bullets.  The best at the time in my Navy Arms Rolling Block was a 405 grain cast lead bullet from the Lee 405RNFP mold on top of 16 grains of Unique.

This was a mild and accurate load out of my rifle.  For Blacp Powder I would recomend Pat and Spence Wolf's book, "Loading for the Original .45-70 Trapdoor Rifle and Carbine."  I've seen them advertised in S&S Firearms catalog as well as at www.the45-70book

Good luck.
Listen!  Do you hear that?  The roar of Cannons and the screams of the dying.  Ahh!  Music to my ears.

Offline MONGO-AZ

• Active citizen
  • Liked:
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2006, 03:03:17 PM »
Thanks. I'll try the Lyman book. I'm thinking for right now, I'm going to stick with the light smokeless loads, and leave BP loading ofr a later date.

Advertising

« Reply #3 on: Today at 09:23:23 AM »

Be-A-triss Bandit