Author Topic: Casing leather question  (Read 3795 times)

Offline Just George

• Just George SASS#68097
  • Active citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Casing leather question
« on: June 28, 2006, 06:05:53 PM »
I would like to know what some of you do to case your leather.  I'm new at this art and find it very interesting.  Just how long should a 5/6 oz square about 6" on each side stay in the water?  Any help will be greatly appreciated (and followed).

Thanks.
Listen to the wind.  Talk to the smoke.  Watch the moon.

9th Inf Div, RVN, 66/67
AAA-0

Offline Marshal Will Wingam

• Garden Variety
  • Deputy Marshal
  • Top Active Citizen
  • Smile. It makes people wonder what you're up to.
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 307
Re: Casing leather question
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2006, 08:50:59 PM »
With harness/strap leather, I just dunk mine in plain water for about 5 seconds or so. I keep a spray bottle handy to re-wet it if needed. That seems to be fine for tooling or stamping. With some leathers, you will need to leave it in longer but it depends on the leather. If you have a scrap, you can try it a little at a time until it is wet enough then do the work piece for the total time.

SCORRS     SASS     BHR     STORM #446

Offline Rascal Ralph

• Very Active Citizen
  • Liked:
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2006, 09:56:44 PM »
JG- a little trick to remember is that if you re-wet a piece after it's been tooled on, the moisture added may lift some of the leather that has been tooled down. If you need to leave a piece unfinished, put it in a plastic bag, and leave it in your refrigerator. The piece will stay moist and seldom needs additional moisture. Don't work wet leather, let it lose some moisture untill it works "just right". try a few pices of scrap to learn the right color to start tooling. RR.
In case you don't know me, I'm just a friend you hadn't met yet.

Sass # 67604

SBSS # 1822

GOFWG # 283

RATS # ???

Advertising

« Reply #3 on: Today at 08:47:20 PM »