Author Topic: 38 Special loads in Vaqeros  (Read 2756 times)

Offline Timgungoll

• Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
38 Special loads in Vaqeros
« on: June 11, 2014, 10:55:49 AM »
I am new to SASS.  I am playing around with different loads in 38 special for SASS vaquero's.  Off a rest, I was shooting low about 4 inches with 105 grain bullets.  I played around using Bullseye with max recs and +P loads and got it to about 3 to 3.5 inches low.  I then tried 158 gr bullets and they shot dead on off a rest.  I am not sure I should have been shooting off a rest.  When I thumb fire, the 105 grain bullets are accurate on 6 inch steel targets at 7 yards, except sometimes the first shot.  What is this phenomena?  Have others had the same issues?  What are the best pistol loads for vaquero's including bullet sizes?  I use bullseye mainly for pistol loading but also have Power Pistol, Titegroup, and Trail Boss.

Offline jimbobborg

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
Re: 38 Special loads in Vaqeros
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2014, 11:47:49 AM »
Your sights appear to be regulated for the heavier bullets.  This is why I don't shoot that caliber in my CAS pistols.  If you're wanting to shoot the lighter bullets, you'll need to shorten the front sight or use a different sight picture. 

Offline Trailrider

• CAS-L Ghost Rider
  • Top Active Citizen
    • Gunfighter Zone
  • Liked:
« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2014, 10:08:49 PM »