Author Topic: Why 5 rounds in the 1911 magazines?  (Read 11996 times)

Offline Roscoe Coles

• Top Active Citizen
  • SSS Spencer Shotgun Resident Expert
  • SASS #: 1188
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 1
Why 5 rounds in the 1911 magazines?
« on: December 29, 2011, 10:49:36 AM »
I am new to WB, just getting all my gear together.  I was reading the post on how many magazines folks are carrying (6+ seems to be the answer), and it made me wonder why we are using so many magazines instead of just increasing the magazine load from 5 to 7.  Being an FNG, can some one explain the logic behind why 5 rounds was chosen in the first place? 

Offline Marshal Deadwood

• SHOOTER FOR HIRE
  • Top Active Citizen
    • Home of the Plainsmen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Why 5 rounds in the 1911 magazines?
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2011, 11:56:50 AM »
At our range the WB competes head on with the SASS shooters. SASS shooters have five round sets from each revolver,,so the WB ones shoot five rounds too ,,as to be on the same page as far as scores. The sixth round would mean leaving a loaded round in the pistol which would be a safety violation at the least.

Deadwood

Offline Jefro

• Top Active Citizen
  • know matter where you go, there you are
  • Liked:
« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2011, 03:05:09 PM »
Most WB matches are set up on CAS ranges with CAS targets and simular senerios. Most WB shooters are from the CAS ranks where pistol sweeps are in groups of 5 or 10. When writing senerios it is better to pattern the pistol sequences after the rifle sequence, less Ps and not a memory contest. Sorta like "With rifle shoot two 2-1-2 sweeps", "Move to table 2, with pistol shoot two 2-1-2 sweeps", "Move with pistol to table 3 and shoot two 2-1-2 sweeps" We have a stand alone WB match so we do have more movement and shooting positions than our CAS matches. WB is a blast, Good Luck :)

Jefro :D Relax-Enjoy
sass # 69420....JEDI GF #104.....NC Soot Lord....CFDA#1362