Author Topic: The Wonderful Henry Rifle  (Read 8726 times)

Offline Will Dearborn

• "Ramrod, wreckage, and ruin..."
  • Top Active Citizen
  • Faugh an Ballagh
    • My Place on myspace
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
The Wonderful Henry Rifle
« on: April 27, 2007, 08:39:52 PM »
Although new to competative shooting, I've been around guns and shooting most of my life.  I'm VERY new to CAS. 

Having said all that...  I'm also a very big fan of the Henry Rifle.  Before I go out and buy a new model Henry that SAYS it's okay for CAS...  what can you all recommend to a greenhorn?  I'll most likely need to know where I can get my FFL guy to order one from as well.  I KNOW I'm going to be shooting a Henry.  THe only thing remains to be seen is what TYPE.

Help.

And,

I Say thankya.
"First comes smiles; then comes lies.  Last is gunfire."
                                                -Roland of Gilead
V.P., Waverly Arts Council
Chairman, Gen. Jo Shelby's Iron Brigade Assn.
SASS #75873
RATS #359
SBSS #2032
SCORRS
GAF #467
Private, 7th and 30th Cons. Missouri Inf.  "Irish Brigade"

Offline Fox Creek Kid

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 108
Re: The Wonderful Henry Rifle
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2007, 08:42:13 PM »
THe only thing remains to be seen is what TYPE.

??? ??? Huh? Explain "type", please.

Offline Will Ketchum

• Chief of Detectives
  • Deputy Marshal
  • Top Active Citizen
  • Pete Ersland
  • SASS #: 4222
  • NCOWS #: 133
  • Liked:
« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2007, 10:28:44 PM »
Will, don't get confused with the modern rifle that is made by a company calling itself "Henry" they even imply in their ads that they have some connection to the original 1860 Henry.  There is none.

The Henry that we refer to on this forum is either the originals or the Uberti made replica, which is what most of us shoot.