Author Topic: Added value for consecutive numbered guns?  (Read 3907 times)

Offline Joel6180

• Very Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Added value for consecutive numbered guns?
« on: April 06, 2016, 07:30:06 PM »
 I have a consecutive numbered pair of USFA SA pistols.  One is 7.5", the other 4.75".  I wouldn't mind keeping the 4.75" gun, but I am concerned about potential value loss by splitting the pair.  I'm very new to SAA collecting, and don't have any real idea about the importance, or lack of importance, in consecutively numbered pairs.  I have noticed in for sale ads, that there seems to be some emphasis placed on weather or not pairs are consecutively numbered.  My gut tells me it would be a mistake to split them, but don't know how big a mistake.  Thanks for any input.  Joel

Offline Capt. John Fitzgerald

• Deputy Marshal
  • Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 34
Re: Added value for consecutive numbered guns?
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2016, 02:08:46 PM »
Joel,
I wouldn't worry about it too much, considering the different barrel lengths.  Most all of those seeking consecutive numbers are also looking for matching sets.  With your mis-matched barrels, any "value loss" would be negligible, if at all. 
I, for one, have never placed that much value on consecutive numbers but that's just me.
CJF
You can't change the wind, but you can always change your sails.

Offline The Pathfinder

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 7
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2016, 04:31:38 PM »
Joel, I have to agree with Capt. John, while nice with two different barrel lengths you lose some of the desirability of them as a set. I have a couple of sets of consecutive numbered guns, but never sought them out for that reason. A nice touch, but it doesn't make them shoot any better.

Advertising

« Reply #3 on: Today at 09:05:07 AM »

Offline Joel6180

• Very Active Citizen
  • Liked:
« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2016, 06:46:44 PM »