Author Topic: .45 Colt  (Read 3771 times)

Offline Boon

• Active citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
.45 Colt
« on: October 05, 2005, 01:04:17 AM »
I am very new at this and willing to learn. I found a .45 colt Durango in a local gun shop. I think it in an import from Itally or somewhere like that not sure. It has the firing pin on the hammer. Is this a good thing or bad with the pin on the hammer I mean. I do not intend on doing and fanning. But I really want to get into Cowboy Action Shooting. This site is great and there is a lot of info on here and great people willing to help a new tenderfoot like me.
PWDFR #142...RATS #222

The Arapaho Kid

Re: .45 Colt
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2005, 01:37:40 AM »
Boon:  You probably won't find a sixshooter that doesn't have the firing pin on the hammer.  Sixshooters were designed and built that way for years before they put the firing pin elsewhere...like in the frame.  What I would do with that Colt is take it to a gun shop and have a smith check it out and see if it's shootable and get an age on it.  They can do that with the serial number.  Sounds like you made a good find.  For Cowboy Action shooting you'll need two sixshooters a long gun and a scattergun. Originals are excellent, but replicas will do just fine.  My long guns are an original 1892 Winchester and an original 1894 Colt Lightning.  My sixshooters are Navy Arms replicas.  My scattergun is a Baikal Russian made, double barrel 12 ga.  This is a fun sport and it can also be used for frustration relief!

Good luck with your shooting and have fun!

The Arapaho Kid

Offline dangerranger

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
« Reply #2 on: October 05, 2005, 02:25:00 AM »