Author Topic: 1858 Remmie 45 ACP Conversion  (Read 15635 times)

Offline Jim Bob

• Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
1858 Remmie 45 ACP Conversion
« on: June 23, 2009, 02:45:29 PM »
I'm doing a Kirst 45 ACP Konversion on my 1858.  I'm new at 45 ACP conversion stuff so please take it easy on me  8). Just wondering if anyone has done the same and what ammo are you using?  I don't have the equipment to load my own so looking to see if anyone is using store bought 45 ACP.  I would assume that I need to use lead bullets. Maybe there's some online store that may have some in stock.

Skinny Preacher,
Thanks for the input much appreciated.

Angel Eyes,
Don't get me wrong I love my black powders and I shoot my Colt repos as BP.  But the Remmie just lends itself to conversaion.
To qoute "Blue Book of Modern Black Powder Values™" Second Edition. By Dennis Adler. There is an undeniable romance about Colt and Remington cartridge conversions that seems to fascinate more collectors, enthusiasts and filmmakers today than the legendary 1873 Colt Single Action Army, regarded by many as the gun that won the west.
The 1858 Remington New Model Army appears to have been the first percussion revolver converted to fire a metallic cartridge, produced by Remington in 1868-69 (while the White patent was still in effect) and converted to chamber five .46 caliber rimfire cartridges. Later versions were converted to six-shot .44 caliber centerfire, and the New Model Navy to .36 and then .38 caliber.
These factory conversions remained in production until the new Remington Model 1875 Single Action Army was introduced.
As you can see BP conversions were a part of the old west history. So having a conversion pistol is just like owning any other piece of old west history, gun, hat boots etc. If I wanted a .45 cal 1911 auto I'd buy one but that didn't have a place in the old west.
I hope this clears things up alittle for you. 8)  Have a great day pard.

Offline Skinny Preacher 66418