Author Topic: Some probs with fiebings oil dye...  (Read 7619 times)

Offline Ray

• Active citizen
  • haste makes waste
    • LAW 'N' LEATHER
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Some probs with fiebings oil dye...
« on: November 23, 2016, 02:35:30 AM »
Howdy, the last few month i have some heavy problems using fiebings oil dye. When it get`s dry It hardens so much that the surface of the leather is cracking when getting bend. I haven´t had this the last years. Same veg. tanned leather as always. Now I am trying to use oil on it but it does not really work. Anyone an idea? Best regards Ray  :-\
lawyer by profession - leather by passion

Offline Mogorilla

• NCOWS Member
  • Top Active Citizen
  • NCOWS #: 3306
  • GAF #: 883
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 95
Re: Some probs with fiebings oil dye...
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2016, 07:19:12 AM »
I have had the same issue.   I ended up getting the eco-flo dyes.   They have worked well for me.  It takes a bit of practice to avoid streaks.   I gave up the fieblings because it totally ruined two pieces that had taken a lot of time to do.   Basically I wiped it on and off, came back a half hour later and the pieces looked like bad Cuir Boille.  Hard, cracked and not a bit of flexibility.   Used oils on the pieces and the are still hard, cracked and not a bit of flexibility.  That was fieblings brown.  I had bought a bottle of black at the same time, tried it on a test piece and got the same bad results.  (I am just wiping dye on with wool dauber, then wiping off excess with cotton and buffing slightly.  Then I let the piece dry.)   tossed the bottles and bought the eco-flo water based dyes.  No such problem since.

Offline Galen

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 25
« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2016, 07:31:11 AM »
Never used fiebling dye on leather. I use the alcohol base dark brown to stain rifle stocks. Works great.

Advertising

« Reply #3 on: Today at 12:49:24 AM »

Offline Marshal Will Wingam

• Garden Variety