Author Topic: Opinions on new lead casting furnace  (Read 14344 times)

Offline Navy Six

• Top Active Citizen
  • SASS #: 26385
  • NCOWS #: 1410
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 66
Opinions on new lead casting furnace
« on: March 07, 2015, 06:42:30 PM »
Some of the equipment is finally wearing out and I have to get a new bottom pour furnace. I have it narrowed down (I think) to either the RCBS Pro-Melt or the new Lyman Mag 25 Digital furnace. The RCBS costs about $130 more but I had a older Lyman 20lb pot years ago that was well.... The thing did nothing but clog and I finally threw it away in disgust. I have lots of casting experience so I know about using clean lead and frequent fluxing, especially for a bottom pour. So, I am hesitant to go with another Lyman pot. Has anyone had experience with the new Lyman? In going through older posts everyone gave high marks to the RCBS but no one seemed to mention the new Lyman. If the RCBS is that much better than I will gladly spend the extra money.
By the way, the new pot will definately be a bottom pour as I already have a Ferguson 40 lb pot for ladle casting, but sometimes the noise of the propane burning or my bad elbow makes the bottom pour my choice. Any help is appreciated.
Only Blackpowder Is Interesting 
"I'm the richest man in the world. I have a good wife, a good dog and a good sixgun." Charles A "Skeeter" Skelton

Offline August

• Deputy Marshal
  • Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 24
Re: Opinions on new lead casting furnace
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2015, 07:38:34 PM »
The RCBS is worth every penny they charge for it.  In terms of temperature range and regulation, it has no peers.  The bottom pour mechanism is fool proof.  If you continue casting, you'll end up with an RCBS eventually.  Best get it first and save all the money you'd otherwise spend of second-best choices.

Keep an eye out for sales.  Sometimes local shops have one at a great price. 

Offline Sagebrush Burns

• Top Active Citizen