Author Topic: Perscription Glasses  (Read 7871 times)

Offline Two Bit Charlie

• NCOWS Member
  • Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 11
Perscription Glasses
« on: September 20, 2013, 03:29:51 PM »
Hello everyone.  I'm new to the sport of Buffalo Rifles.  I wear prescription glasses with no line bifocals.  I have a hard time with seeing the front sight inserts most of the time.  I've heard that the no line bifocals are bad for this.  And I've heard that you should get ones glasses set up to focus on the front sight.  I've also heard to get a spot low on your glasses to focus up close so you can see your sight adjustments.  I'm asking the board what I should do?

Two-Bit Charlie

Offline Stu Kettle

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Perscription Glasses
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2013, 05:01:08 PM »
I were a pair for all of my shooting that focuses at arms length & farther.  When I'm wearin those, I also wear a small magnifying glass on a chain around my neck for close up work.

Offline pony express

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2013, 05:28:29 PM »
I have a pair of glasses like what Stu has, focus at about arm's length. If I need to see close up, I can just take them off, and  get within about 6 inches of what I'm looking at. Works fine for target shooting, when the target contrasts the background. Unfortunately, I can't very well use them for hunting, I had a deer walk up and lay down in the dry leaves about 30 yards from me and I COUDN'T SEE IT! Changed to my regular glasses, could see it fine, but couldn't see the sights!

Advertising

« Reply #3 on: Today at 05:32:52 AM »

Offline St. George

• Deputy Marshal
  • Top Active Citizen
  • NCOWS , GAF, B.O.L.D., Order of St. George, SOCOM,
  • Liked:
« Reply #3 on: September 20, 2013, 05:29:04 PM »
Have a talk with your Optometrist - he'll prescribe what you need.

Scouts Out!
"It Wasn't Cowboys and Ponies - It Was Horses and Men.