Author Topic: Need some advice on the best mold for casting 250 grain RNFP slugs  (Read 5513 times)

Gentlemen,

Okay, I know these “which is the best” questions can be a pain, but I don’t know of any other way to approach this.

I’m new to casting and need some help picking a mold suitable for CAS shooting.  I’m a long time shooter and re-loader, but the casting thing is a whole new game to me.

I want to cast 250 grain RNFP slugs - obviously for CAS shooting.

There seem to be a number of options out there for molds ranging from cheaper factory (bulk produced) molds such as Lee, to more expensive molds from custom makers.

I don’t mean this to sound as if money is no object, because it is, but I’d rather pay more for the mold to start with and have a good one than buy a cheaper one, not be satisfied, and end up buying another one anyway.

One I’m contemplating right now is made by Accurate Molds.  I don’t know anything about them, but they seem to be a very reputable company.  Other names I’ve heard are Mihec and NOE.  Again, I know nothing about them, and I don’t even know if they make molds for the 250 grain RNFP slug.

Can some of you more experienced casters offer advice on this?  If you wanted to get the BEST mold you could lay hands on for that style of bullet – what would you get?

I’d prefer a 5 or 6 cavity if possible as I assume that would speed up production.

Thanks in advance for your help

Offline Coal Creek Griff

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 636
Re: Need some advice on the best mold for casting 250 grain RNFP slugs
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2013, 01:45:40 PM »
Can we assume that you're talking about a .45 caliber bullet?

I will say that I have been more than pleased with Accurate Molds.  I have had Tom make me two and they are fantastic.

CC Griff
Manager, WT Ranch--Coal Creek Division

BOLD #921
BOSS #196
1860 Henry Rifle Shooter #173
SSS #573

« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2013, 02:42:09 PM »