Author Topic: Advice Needed on a Spur Strap  (Read 23903 times)

Offline JD Alan

• Pistol Packin Parson
  • Top Active Citizen
    • New Life Church Website
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Advice Needed on a Spur Strap
« on: July 12, 2009, 08:15:34 PM »
Howdy all. As you can see by the picture, I have a pretty plain lookiing boot. Foot problems haven't provided me with a lot of options. At this point, function and fit win over style.

I would like to add spurs with a good looking strap, but I'm not sure how they would attach to this style of boot. I have zero experience with spurs, so any help would be greatly appreciated.

By the way, this is a size 13 EE boot. Thanks guys, JD

The man with an experience is never at the mercy of a man with an argument.

Offline RollingThunder

• Top Active Citizen
  • RollingThunder
  • Liked:
Re: Advice Needed on a Spur Strap
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2009, 09:55:00 PM »
Parson, you got yourself a big set of frog stompers there. With that style of boot, you have a good spur counter (or ledge) on the back. The spur would rest on that, and go along the ledge around. For a book like that, I would recommend a one-piece dove wing. The wider leather would be much more comfortable, and you wouldn't need the spur to grip the boot at all.
Just because you CAN ride the hide off a horse, doesn't mean you should.

http://www.youtube.com/artroland - The home of Backyard Horsemanship!

Offline JD Alan

• Pistol Packin Parson
  • Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2009, 10:17:09 PM »
RT, I almost sent you a PM instead of posting this, so thank you for weighing in. You make awesome spur straps, so I knew I could count on you!. Not having any spur experience (I've had horses, but never used spurs) it seems to me that with the shaft of this boot being how it is, that the spurs would just ride up.