Author Topic: 1860 Staff and Field VS 1850 Field and Staff  (Read 2109 times)

Offline Col.Will B.Havoc

• Very Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
1860 Staff and Field VS 1850 Field and Staff
« on: January 21, 2010, 02:08:56 AM »
I am new to the GAF but an experienced reenactor. Until now,all my experience has been Mexican and Civil war.
My question is This: I know that the 1860 was mandated for all officers after 1872. However,officers purchased their own weapons. Would a long service officer, who had carried an 1850 be allowed to continue to carry until retirement or would he be required to change?

Offline US Scout

• Bvt MajGen GAF (Retired)
  • CAS-L Ghost Rider
  • Top Active Citizen
  • SASS #: 15690
  • GAF #: 3
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 17
Re: 1860 Staff and Field VS 1850 Field and Staff
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2010, 05:52:31 AM »
First off, welcome to the GAF. 

Generally speaking, since the sword was a regulation item, in that it's design was specified in the uniform regulations, officers would be encouraged to replace their older swords with the newer patterns as soon as they could.  You can see this when other uniform changes were instituted - officers made the transition to the new pattern fairly quickly.  Only the enlisted men were allowed to wear older issue clothing and equipment.  

In the Marines for example, they changed from the Mamaluke pattern to the 1850 Infantry sword in 1859.  Civil War era photos show the 1850 pattern being worn, suggesting serving officers replaced their old patterns fairly quickly.