Author Topic: Would like some suggestions as to a rifle for "Frontier" class  (Read 5272 times)

Gentlemen,

I’m just looking for some suggestions.  I’m new to CAS and need some advice.

I currently have a pair of Ruger New Vaqueros and a Taylor & Co “Comanchero” rifle in 45 Colt, and a Chiappa 87 shotgun in 12 ga – so I’m pretty much set for shooting “Classic Cowboy”.

I also have a pair of Ruger Old Army Cap & Ball revolvers that I would like to shoot in “Frontier” class.  So I’m looking for a rifle that would be most suited (period wise) to go with the Cap & Ball revolvers – but which I could also use as a backup rifle if (it happens) I have trouble with the “Comanchero”.  I’d like to stay with 45 Colt to keep re-loading simple.

I’m thinking of the Taylor’s & Co “1866 “Yellowboy”.  The "Era" seems about right, and it's a neat looking rifle.  Any thoughts – or suggestions?

Thanks for taking the time to read.

Offline pony express

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Would like some suggestions as to a rifle for "Frontier" class
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2014, 05:48:21 PM »
There's about 4 main choices to go with the C&B revolvers:1866, Henry, 1873 and a Spencer. Within those groups, there's lots of choices of barrel lengths, stock styles, etc, especially with the '66 and '73. Most of the Winchester/Henry repros are made by Uberti, and marketed by a variety of companies. I don't know much about the Spencers, but they get a lot of style points, sort of makes up for the slowness.

Offline Blackpowder Burn

• Top Active Citizen
  • Smoke & Lightning
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 5
« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2014, 07:16:05 AM »