Author Topic: Pettifogger Guide? Can't Find It  (Read 1196 times)

Offline Problemchild

• Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Pettifogger Guide? Can't Find It
« on: December 27, 2019, 05:27:34 PM »
I am having some issues with my Uberti 1860 Army, and would like to slick it up while I am at it. I am a fairly competent mechanic so I think I am up to the task if I can find a comprehensive guide. I am having trouble finding anything to buy or download online so I joined this forum and thought I would ask! (all the links seem to have been taken down that I have found)

Issues/concerns are the bolt gouging the cylinder before lockup, although timing looks perfect, and my wedge pushes almost all the way through after the first shooting so I am concerned that the arbor is too long or something. I also plan on deburring and honing things while I am in there. My main concern is reading up on the bolt and seeing what can be done there.

Thanks! I will continue to search the forum in the meantime

Offline Problemchild

• Citizen
  • Liked:
Re: Pettifogger Guide? Can't Find It
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2019, 05:51:29 PM »
Pics for reference. Maybe I'm nuts but its bothering me  :'( First pic is of the gouge mark in the cylinder

Offline 45 Dragoon

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 125
« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2019, 06:09:11 PM »
Nope, not nuts .  .  .  late timing.

Mike

PM sent
www.goonsgunworks.com
Follow me on Instagram @goonsgunworks

Advertising

« Reply #3 on: Today at 09:57:39 PM »

Offline Coffinmaker

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 125
« Reply #3 on: December 27, 2019, 07:19:38 PM »

Yup.  45 Dragoon be spot on.  The timing is late combined with a overly heavy Trigger/Bolt spring and the bolt head need polished.

The Arbor is not too long.  It's too short.  If it's Uberti - - - - it's .... SHORT.  Or looking at it from the other end, the bore in the barrel lug is too DEEP  ::)

Offline RUSS123

• Active citizen
  • Liked: