Author Topic: Point Shooting?  (Read 3967 times)

Offline Doc Sunrise

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Point Shooting?
« on: February 03, 2007, 08:17:24 AM »
Hi Marshall,

I am new to cowboy shooting and wanted to know what literature or instructional material is best to learn how to point shoot and learn the art of a quick draw?

Doc Sunrise

Offline St. George

• Deputy Marshal
  • Top Active Citizen
  • NCOWS , GAF, B.O.L.D., Order of St. George, SOCOM,
  • Liked:
Re: Point Shooting?
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2007, 09:01:50 AM »
With the number of posts you've got - I'd say that you have a pretty good idea of the sport.

There are videos available, of course - as well as several books - among them are:

'Fast and Fancy Revolver Shooting' - by Ed McGivern - a classic - but not devoted to C&WAS.

'Action Shooting: Cowboy Style: an in Depth Look' - by Taffin

'What would Wyatt say? Wimp loads, close targets and high-tec mods: what's happening to cowboy shooting?' -  Mike Venturino, 'American Handgunner' magazine.

Go to www.bibliofind.com - type in 'cowboy shooting' - and take your pick.

You can read the books and watch the many, many videos available from enterpreneurs across the 'virtual prairie' - but absolutely nothing prepares you as well as actual shooting - followed by more shooting.

And dry-fire practice.
(with any and all loaded ammunition in a different room - just in case...)

The design of the Colt Single Action Army is a very natural design, ergonomically - and it lends itself well to this sport.

The needed hand and eye coordination is something 'you' need to develop on your own - and that's done by investing the time in practice, practice, practice...

Good Luck.

Scouts Out!

"It Wasn't Cowboys and Ponies - It Was Horses and Men.
It Wasn't Schoolboys and Ladies - It Was Cowtowns and Sin..."

Offline Doc Shapiro

• Top Active Citizen
    • Custom Handmade Pistol Grips
  • Liked:
« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2007, 08:57:31 PM »