Author Topic: A Consumer's Conundrum on the Schofield Model 3  (Read 14695 times)

Offline Ponte

• Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
A Consumer's Conundrum on the Schofield Model 3
« on: January 23, 2013, 03:19:45 PM »
Good afternoon gents,

First time poster, long time lurker.  After scouring a solid 11 pages of the Frontier Iron section, I feel the need to ask a few questions that relate to the current state of the replica Schofields, namely all the different distributors of the Uberti models.

First off, I'm a US Army veteran (3rd Infantry Regiment 2007-2011) that's just gotten into the wonderful world of "The Old West" thanks to my fiance, who recently received from me a Pietta 1858 and Taylor Firearms conversion cylinder for Christmas (she was a huge fan of Pale Rider, so my mind was instantly made up on her gift).  Both of us wish to pursue a life long hobby of Cowboy Action Shooting, and are looking into various groups/societies to get into all while building historically accurate clothing/rigs to participate.  I have been WWII Re-enacting since I was 14 (25 now), and place a great emphasis on nailing every detail in terms of historical accuracy in my impressions. 

However...I'm currently in a pickle in terms of what I should genuinely go with in my path to obtaining a quality, historically accurate replica of the Schofield Model 3.  From what I've gathered, Cimarron currently is regarded as the top contender in terms of finish and factory standards.  Catch is...their representatives are stating an almost 8 month backorder, while NUMEROUS online gun shops that I'm contacting are saying "About 1-3 months for a restock".  Okay.....