Author Topic: Ordnance Officer Impression  (Read 12502 times)

Offline Raven

• American Plainsmen Society
  • Top Active Citizen
    • Ravens Roost Gunsmithing
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Ordnance Officer Impression
« on: January 10, 2010, 10:57:20 AM »
Hey Guys,

I am interested in an Ordnance Officer impression of the CW to 1872 time period. I was hoping that someone would have some advice and answers to some questions that I have.
I am a gunsmith by trade who specializes in conversion revolvers and reproducing experimental firearms of the 1850-1872 time period and thought that an ordnance officer would fit my trade. Also I was a Munitions Maintenance Technition when I was in the service.
My questions are.

1. Did many Ordnance Officers serve time in the field?
2. Was there an actual Ordnance shoulder board or were the Staff boards the standard? I know the regs specify the Staff boards.
3. For an officer in the field would the shell jacket be proper?
4. I understand that the correct sword would have been the 1850 sword, what would be the correct sword plate the Eagle plate or an Ordnance Piss Pot plate?

I'm sure I will have more questions in the future
Many thanks for any advice that you can provide.

Jay Strite
Ravens Roost Gunsmithing / Kirst & Strite Company
Veteran USAF

Offline Texas Lawdog

• NCOWS Senator "Old School" Cop
  • Top Active Citizen
  • " We're all Here because We're not all There".
  • Liked:
Re: Ordnance Officer Impression
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2010, 12:27:33 PM »
I bet that Drydock can help you on your questions about the Ordnance impression. He is our GAF Ordnance Officer.
SASS#47185  RO I   ROII       NCOWS#2244  NCOWS Life #186  BOLD#393 GAF#318 SCORRS#1 SBSS#1485  WASA#666  RATS#111  BOSS#155  Storm#241 Henry 1860#92 W3G#1000  Warthog AZSA #28  American Plainsmen Society #69  Masonic Cowboy Shootist  Hiram's Rangers#18  FOP  Lt. Col  Grand Army of The Frontier, Life Member CAF