Author Topic: Stoeger Uberti 1886 Sporting Rifle  (Read 2830 times)

Offline SlowJack

• Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 1
Stoeger Uberti 1886 Sporting Rifle
« on: July 15, 2020, 12:31:46 AM »
I picked up one of these new recently as I have always wanted a 1886 and the price was rally good.  I have a bunch of Uberti revolvers and have had good luck with them.  Has the 26" barrel, pistol grip stock with checkering, and case colored receiver and fore end cap.  Wood finish is not as good as the Deluxe rifles I see pictured.   No safety. Has what looks like two tapped holes on the left side of the receiver with plug screws in them.

As I am new to the 1886 I have a few questions.  I do not CAS anymore but I still like to shoot when I can.  Thinking about a Lyman receiver peep site for it.  It is really stiff out of the box.  I have slicked up a few 92's but not sure about working on this one.  Does anyone make a spring kit for the 1886 like they do the 92's?  Or do I just need to cycle it a bunch to loosen it up?  Any ammo I should avoid?  I'm thinking about using Jacketed ammo for this rifle.  Are there any known problems with this rifle I need to address?

Manny thanks for any advice before I head to the range.

Offline Niederlander

• American Plainsmen Society
  • Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 6
Re: Stoeger Uberti 1886 Sporting Rifle
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2020, 08:42:12 PM »
I'd say cycle it several hundred times, then disassemble and look for wear marks.  You could do some judicious polishing on those spots.  If it's anywhere near as good as an original Winchester, you'll really like it.  As far as loads, it will handle anything other than the stuff made for Ruger No. 1's and the like.  Jacketed is fine.  It it's got the crescent butt, that may limit you some if it doesn't fit your shoulder any better than they do mine.
"There go those Nebraskans, and all hell couldn't stop them!"

Offline larryo1

• Very Active Citizen
  • Liked: