Author Topic: Reloading .45 schofield - dumb question  (Read 9520 times)

Offline Roland Reed

• Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Reloading .45 schofield - dumb question
« on: September 27, 2009, 08:18:16 PM »
Ok, I'm expecting this to a rather silly question.
I'm about to buy a Uberti Schofield in .45. I plan to shoot .45 schofield in the thing and will reload my own.
Using trailboss powder. And just picked up some Starline brass.
And now for the dumb question:  Do I use the same bullets as I would for .45 Colt? I've looked around and don't see any cast bullets specifically listed for the .45 schofield.

Roland Reed
Photographer by trade
SASS 85963

Offline Shotgun Franklin

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
Re: Reloading .45 schofield - dumb question
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2009, 09:29:47 PM »
Look here:

http://data.hodgdon.com/cartridge_load.asp

And usually you'll get the best accuracy and the closest POI to match your sights with the bullet weight the gun was designed for.
Yes, I do have more facial hair now.

Offline Dalton Masterson

• Freeda Bee Mee's driver and ammo loader
  • Deputy Marshal
  • Top Active Citizen
  • Wheeeeee!
    • Dalton Masterson's site
  • SASS #: 51139
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 4
« Reply #2 on: September 28, 2009, 04:13:36 PM »
I use the same bullets with no ill effect.  ;)

DM
SASS #51139L
Former Territorial Governor of the Platte Valley Gunslingers (Ret)
GAF (Bvt.) Major in command of Battalion of Western Nebraska
SUDDS 194--Double Duelist and proud of it!
RATS #65
SCORRS
Gunfighting Soot Lord from Nebrasky
44 spoke, and it sent lead and smoke, and 17 inches of flame.
https://www.facebook.com/Plum-Creek-Leatherworks-194791150591003/
www.runniron.com

Advertising

« Reply #3 on: Today at 10:56:42 AM »

Offline Shotgun Franklin

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
« Reply #3 on: September 28, 2009, 08:45:40 PM »
That sounds right as the Uberti S&W was built around the .45 Colt round.
Yes, I do have more facial hair now.