Author Topic: Newbie questions  (Read 8500 times)

Offline jrdudas

• Very Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Newbie questions
« on: September 03, 2004, 08:36:59 AM »
I'm just getting interested in CAS and have a couple of questions for which I have so far been unable to find answers.

1.  Is there a list of SASS approved guns available somewhere?

I have pretty much decided that my rifle choice will be a Marlin 1894, and my pistol choice a Ruger Vaquero.  I have some knowledge about rifles and pistols since I have owned a couple for many years.  However, shotguns are a complete different matter about which I know very little.  The only info I have been able to gather about approved shotguns is that the Winchester 97 (and clones) is approved and that SxS representative of the time period are approved.  Can anyone identify several shotgun examples that are approved.  For instance; I find very few SxS shotguns in the gun stores near my home, but loads of single barrel pumps and single shots in .12 and .20 gauge.  How do you know if any of these are approved guns.  And what about over/under's.

2.  I have read the SASS Handbook but still have questions about "Side Matches".  Are these matches structured or is there just an agreement between shooters as to what will be shot.  For instance; all my weapons are small-bore (.22 cal), are these allowed in side matches?

Thanks in advance for your help,

John

Big Hext Finnigan

Re: Newbie questions
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2004, 09:13:04 AM »
Welcome to the fire!  Hope you enjoy the game.

There is not an approved list, per se.  Most CAS guns are fine for SASS, but there are exceptions and there are limitations to other organizations, like NCOWS, and you should do everything you can to check out other guns.  You will find most folks are not only willing, but excited to let you try out their guns.