Author Topic: 1860 Richards Mason .45lc to .45 acp conversion question. New to single actions  (Read 12784 times)

2nd Mass

Hello all,

I'm looking to buy an 1860s Richards Mason Type II transition revolver. Specifically a reproduction from Cimmarron since that's the only reproduction I've been able to find. http://www.cimarron-firearms.com/conversion-revolvers/1860-conversions/1860-conversions-1860-richards-type-ii/richards-transition-model-45-lc-8-in-ca9052.html

By the way, this would be my first single action beyond .22lr. I'm basically a novice to single actions and old revolvers but have wanted a Richards conversion since before I knew what they were even called.

I intend to use it a lot and with the price of .45lc it will hurt the wallet quite a bit. Might get into reloading but even then it's pricey. I had heard there was a way to convert the cylinder to accept .45acp as well. Is anyone familiar with this?

My other option would be to just buy it in .38 special but I understand that may be difficult for competitions later on if I decide to join any.

Any advice, resources or links on info would be greatly appreciated.  :D

Offline Tornado

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 42
First off welcome, and cool first choice, it shows you have style. 
Why would the .38 limit competitions?  Most SASS shooters use .38's and it is an approved NCOWS round.   .38 special would be my only choice if I didn't reload.  
Also, you will get more feedback if you post this in the STORM forum, it is just for open top style Colt replicas.

Offline Virginia Gentleman

• Top Active Citizen
  • Here's a McRib for Allah
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 24