Author Topic: New Recruit with the first of many questions, I am sure.  (Read 11719 times)

Offline Long Juan

• NCOWS Member
  • Top Active Citizen
    • Tarryhollow Gang
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
New Recruit with the first of many questions, I am sure.
« on: May 03, 2010, 02:15:06 PM »
Shot with the Plum Creek Shooting Society in Lockhart, TX, Saturday.  Was recruited for GAF by Captain Mack and Texas Sarge.  It was early in the day and they had only just met me, so I guess they figured there was no downside to recruiting the new guy.  I am fairly new to SASS, having joined only last year, but I have been into shooting for many years.  I shoot now mostly with the Texican Rangers in Fredericksburg/Comfort, TX.  Hope to shoot also with PCSS in the future as often as possible. 

Am working on pulling together the rudiments of a uniform.  Current planning is Indian Wars cavalry.  Also need to think about my SASS alias, Long Juan.  I am tall and my name is John, at least that's the story I tell most folks.  I am thinking of expanding to Captain John ("Long Juan") Austin.  All fictional, but I am retired Navy Captiain (figure its okay to demote myself from O-6 to O-3) and I live in Austin, so it sort of makes sense without losing my identity as Long Juan.  Any thoughts?

My other quick questions:  (1) Would like to purchase some GAF insignia (cap/hat badge and collar tabs).  See on the GAF website Prairie Flower Leather in Ord, NE, has been the vendor.  Their website does not pop up.  Any one know if they are still in business selling the GAF insignia?  If not, is there another source?  (2) Also looking for a GAF regimental decal.  I am told someone had some made.  Wondering if they are still availalbe and, if so, how to purchase one? 

That's it for now.  Am sure I will have uniform, leather, weapon and other questions soon.  Thanks in advance to any and all who respond.  I promise not to be as long-winded next time.

Long Juan
SASS #84671