Author Topic: New Member  (Read 1729 times)

Offline Chacón

• Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
« on: May 09, 2020, 01:50:20 PM »
Hello all. I'm new around here and plan on getting involved in the sport when the quarantine ends.  I've been shooting other types of shooting sports for about 15 years and I'm looking forward to trying something new.

I've read all I could and I'll be searching the forum and reading more to try to get some of my equipment together before my first match.  I contacted the guy who runs them and he told me to show up they'll get me started.  I would like to at least have my revolvers and rig before then but if not I'm going to take him up on the offer.

I'm going to try to develop a Mexican character/costume thus the alias "Chacón" which I liked the sound of as a common surname.  A sombrero or similar type round hat is definitely going to be part of my costume but if anyone has any tips as to style of holsters and belt for Chacón, I am all ears.  Something New Mexico/El Paso themed most likely since I live 40 miles from El Paso.

Thanks all.

Offline Chacón

• Citizen
  • Liked:
Re: New Member
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2020, 01:55:07 PM »
For my guns I'm planning on running basic fixed sight SAA clones that I can get from the store with 4.75" barrels.

For my rifle, I am probably going to do a Rossi R92.  I was actually planning on buying one anyway which is what got me to thinking I should just get into cowboy to have an excuse to shoot it.  I was going to buy a 16" but I think a 20" would be a better choice for this game so I'm going to go 20".

For my shotgun, I wouldn't mind finding an authentic 97 but I think some kind of sxs with one trigger is a better fit for me at this time (technique wise).

I am set up to load .38./.357/.45 Colt or whatever I need on a Dillon and I cast my own bullets so ammo isn't an issue, but I'd appreciate help with my costume (longer term) and guns (shorter term).

Offline Marshal Halloway