Special Interests - Groups & Societies > Uberti, Pietta and other SAA Clones

New Uberti Stallion - pics and a few questions....

(1/3) > >>

Jimbo45:
Hi all!  First post here, but I have been doing a lot of reading here for a while.  Great place to learn about SAA's!

A little backround on me:  I have been shooting for 25 years, mostly semi auto pistols and AR15's since I am a firearms instructor with my PD.  I did have a Ruger Blackhawk .357 way back, but never shot it much.  But, now my seven year old is obsessed with guns and westerns, so I began looking into single actions as a training possibility, mainly for safety and ease of use over auto pistols.  Well, and I must admit, the old 1873 SAA has always had a soft spot in my heart, and the closest I ever had, was that blackhawk.  Until now....

I picked up this Uberti Stallion in .22LR today.  I have to say it looks and handles great.  I did notice that the front sight appears to be cut off and refinished!?  Every Uberti Stallion I have seen a pic of, has the normal round front blade.  This one is flat.  I have read about some owners complaining that the Stallions shoot very low...I wonder if this is a hasty factory fix for the low POI????  Also noticed that there is no crown cut on the muzzle? 

Also, upon receiving it at the dealer, the cylinder was very snug in a spot, when rotating it, and a few times I had the hammer cock all the way to the rear (past the 4th click stop, at cylinder index), and fail to index the cylinder properly.  It was not purchased from this dealer, he only did the transfer.  So, I took it home, and checked it out a bit closer.