Author Topic: Blackhawk, or Vaquero?  (Read 3087 times)

Offline Judge Jake McCord

• Active citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Blackhawk, or Vaquero?
« on: October 01, 2006, 05:53:49 PM »
OK, fellow RATS, give me some advice: I'm just getting started in CAS. I own a Ruger .45 Blackhawk, and an Uberti, same caliber, both with 5 1/2 inch barrels. I am debating what to do: trade in the Uberti for another Blackhawk? Or trade both in for a pair of Vaqueros? Any thoughts? ???

Judge Jake
Make haste, slowly.

Offline Adirondack Jack

• Top Active Citizen
    • www.cowboy45special.com
  • Liked:
Re: Blackhawk, or Vaquero?
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2006, 08:47:21 PM »
If ya qualify for the SASS age-based categories, the BH sights are easier to see,and easier to adjust than adjusting ammo to POA like we do with a Vaq.  But if ya want a more or less traditional, bullet proof shooter with no sights that can get broke, the vaq is a great shooter.  It also qualifies in ALL cartridge categories, (at least if ya get a .45) where the Bh won't.
Warthog, Dirty Rat, SBSS OGBx3, maker of curious little cartridges

• Active citizen
  • Liked:
« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2006, 08:41:34 PM »
Good thoughts, Jack: I qualify for 49er (does that mean I could use Modern sights in Traditional category?).

My eyesight was never good and isn't improving with age!  ;D Owning two Blackhawks would give me a pair of pistols better suited for non-CAS as well, and I AM trying to trim, not increase, my gun accumulation, so versatility matters...  ???

Judge Jake
Make haste, slowly.

Advertising

« Reply #3 on: Today at 04:00:17 AM »

Offline Mustang Gregg

• .44 BP GUNFIGHTER
  • Deputy Marshal
  • Top Active Citizen
  • LtCol Mustang Gregg & Col Pitspitr at NE CSG 2007
    • Wild West Arms
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 9
« Reply #3 on: October 03, 2006, 04:34:54 AM »
JJM: